Please Sign In

New To Sportsman Network?
  • Midlands Striper Club Angler/Team of the Year

    The Midlands Striper Club's Annual Angler of the Year/Team of the Year Banquet was held Saturday evening, January 8th, 2011, at Saluda Shoals Park's River Center in Columbia.

    The club’s six-time Angler of the Year (AOTY), Lee Thomas of Leesville, presented the coveted 2010 Angler of the Year plaque and jacket to Rick Kellemeyer of Chapin. Kellemeyer took the lead in January and persevered to win over all competitors to earn his first-ever MSC Angler of the Year crown. Finishing second in AOTY was MSC vice-president Kreg Frady of Leesville. Third place for the year went to Van Cook of Chapin.

    The club presented plaques to Debbie Alewine of Rock Hill, who won the 2010 Lady Angler of the Year title and to Terry Caulder of Little Mountain, who won the Nichols Store of Rock Hill Big Fish Award. Caulder’s fish, caught March 20, 2010, weighed 20 pounds, 7 ounces. The club's Youth Angler of the Year trophy was presented to Weston Thomas of Lexington for an unprecedented fifth time for 2010. Thomas also won the award in 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009.

    Team of the Year jackets and plaques were presented to Team Catchall, consisting of team captain Lee Thomas of Leesville, MSC vice-president Kreg Frady and Youth AOTY Weston Thomas of Lexington. Finishing second in Team of the Year competition was Team Wildman, consisting of team captain Donnie Christopher and son Justin Christopher, both of Rock Hill, Skip Morgan, also of Rock Hill and Danny Young of Sumter. Third place was won by Team Gar Heart, consisting of team captain Shawn Gearheart and his son Tommy, both of Lexington.

    Also honored for their club service were outgoing Treasurer James Cassell of Chapin and outgoing Programs and Conservation Committee Chairman Tom Gitto, also of Chapin. MSC also installed 2011 officers:
    President: Cam Littlejohn, Columbia
    Vice-President: Kreg Frady, Leesville
    Secretary: Shawn Gearheart, Lexington
    Treasurer: Marshall West, Lexington
    Parliamentarian: Mike Johnson, Columbia
    Co-Tournament Director: Woody Barnes, Lexington
    Co-Tournament Director: Richy Brensinger, Lexington

    The event was attended by 100 members and guests and was catered by Shealy’s BBQ of Batesburg-Leesville. Midlands Striper Club is the oldest inland striped bass fishing club in the U.S. MSC’s next regular meeting is Tuesday, February 8, 2011, at the Flight Deck Restaurant in Lexington. A fishing-related program will be presented and guests are always welcome.

    South Carolina Sportsman Field Reporter
    Capt. Glenn “Teach” Corley
    Congrats to Mr. Kellemeyer of Chapin for winning the 2010 Angler of the Year honors. Great report Teach. I would have liked to see what those new jackets looked like - bet they were cool.